Skip to Content

Grishaverse Books in Order (Leigh Bardugo)

The Grishaverse is a collection of young adult fantasy novels written by Leigh Bardugo.

The collection includes the Shadow and Bone trilogy, The Six of Crows duology and the King of Scars Duology.

The Grishaverse books have been made into a Netflix Original Series.

In order to understand the plot completely, it’s recommended to read the Grishaverse books in order.

Grishaverse Books in Order: The Shadow and Bone Trilogy

Shadow and Bone (2012)

Siege and Storm (2013)

Ruin and Rising (2014)

Click here for a complete guide to the Shadow and Bone book series.

Grishaverse Books in Order: Six of Crows Duology

Six of Crows

Criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams – but he can’t pull it off alone.

A convict with a thirst for revenge.
A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.
A runaway with a privileged past.
A spy known as the Wraith.
A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.
A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Six dangerous outcasts. One impossible heist.

Kaz’s crew is the only thing that might stand between the world and destruction – if they don’t kill each other first.

Crooked Kingdom

Welcome to the world of the Grisha.

Kaz Brekker and his crew of deadly outcasts have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn’t think they’d survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they’re right back to fighting for their lives.

Double-crossed and badly weakened, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz’s cunning and test the team’s fragile loyalties.

A war will be waged on the city’s dark and twisting streets – a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of the Grisha world.

Grishaverse Books in Order: King of Scars Duology

King of Scars

Face your demons . . . or feed them.

Nikolai Lantsov has always had a gift for the impossible. No one knows what he endured in his country’s bloody civil war – and he intends to keep it that way. Now, as enemies gather at his weakened borders, the young king must find a way to refill Ravka’s coffers, forge new alliances, and stop a rising threat to the once-great Grisha Army.

Yet with every day a dark magic within him grows stronger, threatening to destroy all he has built. With the help of a young monk and a legendary Grisha Squaller, Nikolai will journey to the places in Ravka where the deepest magic survives to vanquish the terrible legacy inside him. He will risk everything to save his country and himself. But some secrets aren’t meant to stay buried–and some wounds aren’t meant to heal.

Rule of Wolves

The Demon King. As Fjerda’s massive army prepares to invade, Nikolai Lantsov will summon every bit of his ingenuity and charm – and even the monster within – to win this fight. But a dark threat looms that cannot be defeated by a young king’s gift for the impossible.

The Stormwitch. Zoya Nazyalensky has lost too much to war. She saw her mentor die and her worst enemy resurrected, and she refuses to bury another friend. Now duty demands she embrace her powers to become the weapon her country needs. No matter the cost.

The Queen of Mourning. Deep undercover, Nina Zenik risks discovery and death as she wages war on Fjerda from inside its capital. But her desire for revenge may cost her country its chance at freedom and Nina the chance to heal her grieving heart.

King. General. Spy. Together they must find a way to forge a future in the darkness. Or watch a nation fall.

Grishaverse Books in Order: Others

The Language of Thorns

The Language of Thorns is beautifully illustrated collection of dark fairytales that the characters of the Grishaverse might have read as children. There are six short stories in total.

You don’t need to have read any of the other books in the series to enjoy the Language of Thorns, making it a great gift for both fans and people brand new to the Grishaverse.

Demon in the Wood

Demon in the Wood is a graphic novel detailing The Darkling’s origin story.

Although it is a prequel, the book is best enjoyed after reading Shadow and Bone.

The Lives of Saints

The Lives of Saints is a beautifully illustrated replica of the book featured in the Shadow and Bone Trilogy.

The book featured tales of the saints and while it doesn’t contain other spoilers, it’s probably best for readers who are already familiar with the Grishaverse.

Grishaverse Books in Order Summary

This is the complete list of Grishaverse books in order.

I have a more detailed post about the Shadow and Bone books series, as well as a complete list of Leigh Bardugo books (including those not in the Grishaverse series).

You may also be interested in:

Leigh Bardugo Books in Order: A Complete List

This post contains affiliate links. For more information please see my disclosure policy