Skip to Content

Complete List of Sharpe Books in Order (Bernard Cornwell)

Sharing is caring!

Don’t miss this ultimate guide to all of the Sharpe books in order so you never miss a book in the popular historical fiction series by Bernard Cornwell.

There are two different ways you can read the Sharpe books, either in chronological order, or order of publication. I have listed both so you can choose which sequence you prefer.

Disclosure: This post may include affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

Sharpe Books in Order: Chronological Order

This is the recommended reading order if you wanted to follow the books based on the historical timeline.

  1. Sharpe’s Tiger (1997)
  2. Sharpe’s Triumph (1998)
  3. Sharpe’s Fortress (1999)
  4. Sharpe’s Trafalgar (2000)
  5. Sharpe’s Prey (2001)
  6. Sharpe’s Rifles (1988)
  7. Sharpe’s Havoc (2003)
  8. Sharpe’s Eagle (1981)
  9. Sharpe’s Gold (1981)
  10. Sharpe’s Escape (2004)
  11. Sharpe’s Fury (2006)
  12. Sharpe’s Battle (1995)
  13. Sharpe’s Company (1982)
  14. Sharpe’s Sword (1983)
  15. Sharpe’s Skirmish (1999)
  16. Sharpe’s Enemy (1984)
  17. Sharpe’s Honor (1985)
  18. Sharpe’s Regiment (1986)
  19. Sharpe’s Christmas & Sharpe’s Ransom (2 Short Stories) (1994)
  20. Sharpe’s Siege (1987)
  21. Sharpe’s Revenge (1989)
  22. Sharpe’s Waterloo (1990)
  23. Sharpe’s Assassin (2021)
  24. Sharpe’s Devil (1992)
  25. Sharpe’s Command (2024)

Sharpe Books in Order: Publication Order

This is the recommended reading order if you wanted to follow the books in order of release.

  1. Sharpe’s Gold (1981)
  2. Sharpe’s Eagle (1981)
  3. Sharpe’s Company (1982)
  4. Sharpe’s Sword (1983)
  5. Sharpe’s Enemy (1984)
  6. Sharpe’s Honor (1985)
  7. Sharpe’s Regiment (1986)
  8. Sharpe’s Siege (1987)
  9. Sharpe’s Rifles (1988)
  10. Sharpe’s Revenge (1989)
  11. Sharpe’s Waterloo (1990)
  12. Sharpe’s Devil (1992)
  13. Sharpe’s Christmas & Sharpe’s Ransom (2 Short Stories) (1994)
  14. Sharpe’s Battle (1995)
  15. Sharpe’s Tiger (1997)
  16. Sharpe’s Triumph (1998)
  17. Sharpe’s Skirmish (1999)
  18. Sharpe’s Fortress (1999)
  19. Sharpe’s Trafalgar (2000)
  20. Sharpe’s Prey (2001)
  21. Sharpe’s Havoc (2003)
  22. Sharpe’s Escape (2004)
  23. Sharpe’s Fury (2006)
  24. Sharpe’s Assassin (2021)
  25. Sharpe’s Command (2023)

Sharpe Books in Order: FAQs

What are the Sharpe Books by Bernard Cornwell?

The Sharpe series by bestselling author Bernard Cornwell follows the adventures of Richard Sharpe, a fictional British soldier during the Napoleonic Wars. The books are set against the backdrop of various historical battles and campaigns.

What order should I read the Sharpe Books?

The Sharpe novels can be read in either chronological or publication order. However, reading them in chronological order based on the historical timeline within the stories might provide a more cohesive experience of Richard Sharpe’s life and military career.

What is the Sharpe TV series?

The Sharpe TV series is an adaptation of Bernard Cornwell’s Sharpe novels and follows the adventures of Richard Sharpe, a fictional British soldier during the Napoleonic Wars. Sean Bean portrays the main character, Richard Sharpe, in the series. The TV adaptation captures Sharpe’s experiences in the British Army, showcasing his military exploits and personal struggles.

Who is Bernard Cornwell?

Bernard Cornwell is a British author known for his historical novels, particularly those set in medieval England. Born in London, England, Cornwell worked as a journalist before turning to fiction writing.

Cornwell’s works often focus on military history and are known for their meticulous research and vivid depictions of historical events. Apart from the Sharpe series, he has written other successful book series such as The Last Kingdom, set during the Viking invasion of England, and The Grail Quest series, which explores the Hundred Years’ War.


This is the complete list of Sharpe books in order. I’ll keep this list updated if any new books are released.

If you’re looking for more reading inspiration why not check out my other book lists and book reviews. I have book reviews listed by author and book reviews listed by genre. I also have author reading lists and series order lists to help inspire you.

Related Lists

You may also be interested in these other author books lists.

Sharing is caring!