Skip to Content

Zoey and Sassafras Books in Order: Complete Series List

Sharing is caring!

Zoey and Sassafras is a popular children’s book series written by Asia Citro and illustrated by Marion Lindsay.

The series follows the adventures of a Zoey and her cat, Sassafras, as they solve mysteries and help magical creatures.

The Zoey and Sassafras series utilises easy-to-read language and illustrations on nearly every page. The stories combine elements of science, problem-solving, and fantasy, making it engaging for children who enjoy stories with a touch of magic and adventure.

Each book in the series features a new magical animal with a problem that must be solved using science. These challenges require a scientific approach, and Zoey employs a variety of methods like experiments, investigations, and research to solve them.

Throughout the series, Zoey keeps a science journal with handwritten entries, and each book includes a glossary of the kid-friendly definitions of the scientific terms.

The series promotes child-led inquiry science and aligns with Common Core and Next Generation Science Standards, making it an educational and engaging series for young readers.

Zoey and Sassafras Books: What Age Are They Aimed At?

The Zoey and Sassafras books are typically aimed at early readers and children aged 5 to 10 years old. The books are designed to be accessible to young readers who are transitioning from picture books to chapter books.

However due to the engaging stories and science education, the books are a hit with a wide range of ages.

Zoey and Sassafras Books in Order: Complete Series List

As the Zoey and Sassafras books are a series, it is necessary to read them in order. I’ve written the books down in order as a simple list at the end, but I’ve also included the full descriptions. Feel free to skip to whichever section you prefer.

Dragons and Marshmallows (2017)

In the first book of this series, Zoey discovers a glowing photo and learns an amazing secret. Injured magical animals come to their backyard barn for help! When a sick baby dragon appears, it’s up to Zoey and Sassafras to figure out what’s wrong.

Will they be able to help little Marshmallow before it’s too late?

Monsters and Mold (2017)

In the second book of this series, a forest monster shows up looking for help with an embarrassing problem and Zoey is sure it will be a simple fix. But her first two tries at helping him fail and she has a sobbing monster on her hands!

Will Zoey and Sassafras solve the problem in time for Gorp to go to the annual Monster Ball?

Merhorses and Bubbles (2017)

In the third book of this series, Zoey and Sassafras head to the stream only to make a terrible discovery. Things get even more urgent when they learn that the magical creatures living in the stream are in danger!

Can Zoey and Sassafras solve the mystery of the stream and save the Merhorses?

Caterflies and Ice (2018)

In the fourth book, an unexpected snow storm causes trouble for the magical creatures of the forest. When Zoey and Sassafras attempt to rescue trapped caterfly eggs, they make a mistake.

Can they figure out a way to fix things before the baby caterflies hatch?

The Pod and The Bog (2018)

In the fifth book, an old friend visits Zoey at the barn with a mysterious glowing. . . seed pod?

Zoey, Sassafras, and Pip must work together to discover what this mysterious rare magical plant needs to grow before all the seeds crumble to purple dust!

Unicorns and Germs (2019)

In the sixth book, an earthquake shakes Zoey’s house. Or maybe it’s a unicorn-quake?

An enormous new friend arrives in a lot of pain, and it’s getting worse every day. Zoey must work with her mom and Sassafras to find a cure — and quickly!

Grumplets and Pests (2019)

In the seventh book, Zoey and Sassafras are excited to enjoy their summer with their magical friends. But . . . why is everyone so grumpy?

A bunch of bad days one after the other lead Zoey to suspect that something more is afoot. It’s up to Zoey and Sassafras to solve the mystery before they end up with one bummer of a summer!

Bips and Roses (2020)

Oh no! There’s a big problem with the forest roses . . . magical roses that are very important because they are the first food for newborn hippogriffs.

Can Zoey, Pip, and Sassafras use their science know-how to fix the magical roses before the hippogriff eggs hatch?

Wishypoofs and Hiccups (2021)

Oh dear . . . when Pip shows up with a new look that’s just as much of a surprise to him as to Zoey and Sassafras, the trio knows something strange is happening in the forest.

They retrace Pip’s steps only to see another magical friend change right before their eyes!

It’s up to the team to figure out what is happening and how to change the magical animals back before things get any more serious . . .

Zoey and Sassafras Books in Order: Written List

  1. Dragons and Marshmallows (2017)
  2. Monsters and Mold (2017)
  3. Merhorses and Bubbles (2017)
  4. Caterflies and Ice (2018)
  5. The Pod and The Bog (2018)
  6. Unicorns and Germs (2019)
  7. Grumplets and Pests (2019)
  8. Bips and Roses (2020)
  9. Wishypoofs and Hiccups (2021)

Zoey and Sassafras Books in Order: Summary

At the time of writing there are nine Zoey and Sassafras books. I’ll keep the post updated as and when more books are released.

You may also be interested in:

Tom Gates Books in Order

This post contains affiliate links. For more information see my disclosure policy.

Jen is the owner and writer of MMB Book Blog. A lifelong bookworm, she aims to provide readers with literary inspiration in the form of book reviews, reading lists and more. As the daughter of a librarian Jen's love of books started from a very early age. Her reading obsession continued throughout her teenage years when she studied both English Language and English Literature at college. As an adult her love of reading has only increased and she can always be found with her head in a book.